In Minnesota, workers’ compensation is a mandatory program that insures businesses against the costs resulting from injuries their workers may sustain while on-the-job. The insurance covers expenses that include lost wages, medical care, and various types of disabilities. Workers who are physically injured or incur diseases due to workplace activity are eligible to receive benefits. At the Osterbauer Law Firm, we are experienced advocates, dedicated to helping you obtain your rightful workman’s compensation. Minnesota workers can rely on us to navigate their claims through the system and pursue the benefits they deserve.
Filing Your Claim
In Minnesota, you have 14 days from the date of your injury to report the injury or occupational disease resulting from workplace activity. If you have incurred an occupational disease, your injury date is the first day you knew or should have known that your injuries were related to your time on-the-job. Although you will likely remain eligible for workman’s compensation benefits if you file within 30 days of your injury and if your employer was not negatively affected by the delay, it is best to report your injury to your supervisor as soon as you are able to avoid any potential problems.
After you report your workplace injury, your employer in required to fill out and file a form entitled, “First Report of Injury” with its insurer and give you a copy. Also, within 10 days, the company’s insurer must file a report with the state’s Department of Labor & Industry. After this, the insurer has a period of 14 days to conduct a claim investigation and determine whether to accept or reject your workman’s compensation claim.
Getting Medical Care
If your injury is a medical emergency, it is vital to get medical treatment immediately and also inform your supervisor you have sustained an injury at work. During an emergency of this nature, you may choose any healthcare provider you desire for your treatment. In non-emergency situations, you may also select your preferred healthcare provider, unless your employer operates under a managed care plan certified by the state.
If you are covered under such a managed care plan, your employer must inform you of this in writing. If you receive such notice from your employer, you usually are required to see a doctor in the plan. However, if no medical care provider is available within 30 to 50 miles of your workplace or home, you are permitted to see the physician of your choice.
The workers’ compensation insurance company has the responsibility to pay for all of the required medical care stemming from your workplace injury. There may be instances in which you inform the insurance company before you receive treatment. For instance, you and your doctor must let the insurance company know before you receive any non-emergency hospitalization or surgery.
At the Osterbauer Law Firm, our workman’s compensation attorneys in Minnesota are committed to helping you secure the benefits to which you are entitled for your injury at work. To schedule a free consultation, call us today at 612.334.3434 or reach us through our contact form.