If you have been injured at work, then you are entitled to worker’s compensation in Minnesota. Minnesota has laws involving how much you can receive. Following your claim, the exact amount will be based on the state’s set amounts for disability.
The state of Minnesota operates on a no-fault system when it comes to injuries. This means that rather than employers, insurance companies act as the providers of compensation in the event of injuries.
The calculations depend on how many injuries you sustained and how long you will be out of work. In some cases, a certain fraction of your pre-injury pay will determine the amount you can receive.
So how much does an employer pay for work comp in Minnesota? Read on to find out!
Injury Extent and Work Compensation in Minnesota
The amount of workers’ compensation in Minnesota will depend on the severity and extent of injuries. Under Minnesota labor law, there are four categories of injuries. These are:
- Temporary total disability (TTD)
- Temporary partial disability (TPD)
- Permanent total disability (PTD)
- Permanent partial disability (PPD)
Depending on where your injury is classified, you will be entitled to a certain amount. To determine which category your work-related injury falls under, a physician needs to conduct an assessment and report to your employer with an injury report.
This report is often in the form of a permanency rating or an injury rating. The results of either determine how impaired you are following the injury.
Weekly Wages and Work Compensation in Minnesota
Another element in the calculation for workers’ compensation in the state is your weekly wage. The injury extent expressed in percentage points represents the proportion of your weekly wage you are entitled to.
For the calculation of weekly wages, a five-day workweek is the presumption in the case of temporary disabilities. Rarely does the number of hours worked come into play. Two-thirds of the weekly wage will determine the weekly wage you are entitled to while on work restriction.
In the case of permanent disabilities, the extent of the injury in percentage points is multiplied by an amount set by the state’s permanent disability schedule.
How Much Does Workers’ Compensation Pay For TTD?
Temporary total disability benefit is calculated using your weekly wages. As a rule, two-thirds of your weekly wages will be the amount to which you are entitled.
For example, if you made about $1,000 a week, and you received a total temporary disability rating, you would be entitled to two-thirds of that amount. The resulting amount would be roughly $666.67 while you are away on work restriction or treatment.
By Minnesota labor laws, an employer needs to provide TTD compensation through their insurance provider for a maximum of 130 weeks. Beyond that, the insurance provider needs to inform you in advance and in writing of the cessation of the benefit.
The TTD compensation will also stop in the following situations:
- You resume your duties at work.
- 90 days after your physician determines your MMI (maximum medical improvement).
How Much Can You Receive For TPD?
The benefit for temporary partial disability is nearly similar in calculation. However, unlike TTD, TPD also factors in how much you make if you resume work on a lower wage. For this reason, the calculation will be based on:
- The amount you received weekly before your injury
- The (lower) amount you receive after the injury
The mathematical difference between the two will be the basis of the computation. Two-thirds of the difference will be the amount of TPD compensation to which you are entitled.
For example, imagine that you made $850.00 weekly. Suddenly, you are now forced into a lower-paying post in your company temporarily due to an injury you sustained. This new designation pays you $500.00 weekly.
If the difference is $350.00, then two-thirds of that would be about $233.33 a week. This is the amount of TPD benefit you are entitled to receive. As a result, you will be receiving this weekly with your regular albeit lower wages on the side ($500 + $233.33= $733.33).
The maximum amount of time you can receive this benefit is 250 weeks.
How Much Does PPD Work Comp in Minnesota Pay Employees?
A permanent disability of any kind is verified by a permanency rating. The permanency rating is a score given by a physician following an assessment of your injuries and the resulting degree of impairment.
The permanency rating is expressed in percentage points. The percentage of injury or impairment will be used against current compensation schedules in the state.
The current Minnesota statute on compensation tabulates injury ratings and their corresponding dollar amounts. The amount to which you are entitled is payable until the total amount has been paid. You may be able to receive the resulting amount in:
- Lump-sum (your employer may negotiate for a 5% reduction from the total amount)
How Much Are You Entitled To If You Sustain PTD?
PTD benefit is calculated by taking two-thirds of your wages before you suffered your injury. Unlike PPD benefits, PTD benefits are receivable indefinitely even after your work resumes.
To illustrate, if you were making $1,500 weekly before you became blind as a result of work, you are entitled to $1,000.
To qualify for PTD benefits, your injuries need to result in total impairment or loss of function. By Minnesota labor laws, the injuries include:
- The loss of limbs
- Partial or full paralysis
- The loss of cognitive functions
- Permanent sensory deficits like hearing loss and blindness
Know What Is Due to You as an Employee in Minnesota
The compensation laws of Minnesota were set as a guideline for employers and employees to know how much compensation is required following a work-related injury. If you are an employee that has had an injury at work, know that the law is on your side.
Whether you sustained a temporary or partial injury, know that you are entitled to workers’ compensation in Minnesota.
Should you encounter any issues in your claim, call us at Osterbauer Law!